Life Happens

I know I am probably breaking all the blogging rules with this post.  Its off topic, its personal, and its probably not going to interest very many of you.  That being said I am going to post it anyway.   I have 2 dogs, a black lab we have had her for about 7 years now.  She is the one that got into my pepper garden last year and ate some, no not some, all of my hot paprika peppers.  She was the feature of the post “Don’t Kill the Dog“.  I also have a husky, she is about 12 years old now.  We rescued her off the streets of North Philly.  She had been stealing food from restaurants and convenience stores.  No one could catch her.  One day she wandered into my wifes office, past security, up three floors where my wife and some of her co-workers found her.  Needless to say my wife called me and said I found a dog, can we keep her.  I am dog person myself and at the time we had one dog, Louie the golden retriever, so I agreed and the most beautiful dog I had ever seen wandered into my life, with the most hypnotic blue eyes I had ever seen in a dog.  We named her Frankie, after good old Franky blue eyes himself.

About a week ago we awoke in the dead of night to Franking howling in pain.  We were not sure what happened.  She seemed to settle down after about 15 minutes so we sat with her for a while and all seemed well.  We went  back to sleep.  The next day we were off to Cape May to celebrate our 13th anniversary at our shore house.  There Frankie seemed to be getting worse,  by the time we got home she was crying when she lay down, yelping when she stood up, it is so bad now that all she does is stand until she can’t stand anymore, then she lays down and won’t move for hours.

I took her to the vet and the vet prescribed muscle relaxers and pain meds.  If she isn’t better by tomorrow I will have to take her in again.  The vet has no idea what is wrong with her, though she did mention spinal cancer could bring on these symptoms.  I don’t even want to think of that possibility.   So we wait and hope she gets better.  Needless to say this has taken up all of my time.  I have found a brief moment to write a post and I have been so worried about Frankie that I couldn’t think of anything to write.  So I decided to write about what was going on in my life, sans peppers.

Everything in the garden has turned around, no slugs, no ants, but now we have some bunny issues, but that was easy to deal with, so all is well there.  Thy hydroponic pepper plant is flowering so that is good.  I am glad because this allows me the time to take care of the dog that has been in my life for 12 plus years.  She has been there through it all from the days where we didn’t have any money, no real home to speak of, and only our hopes and dreams to get us through.  Now I have a nice 3 story victorian home in PA, a shore house in Cape May, NJ, and life is good.  I think I would be remiss if I did not do everything in my power to comfort the dog who gave me comfort when all else seemed hopeless and lost.

I hope I did not bore you with my ramblings but it did help to write this out.  Sometimes life happens and you just have to deal with it the best way you know how.

17 thoughts on “Life Happens

    • We love NJ, and spend a lot of weekends on the bay. though my cute husky isn’t doing well now she has give us years of love. I only hope she can pull through. I found its tough to write anything when your mind is so preoccupied with things that are going on in your life.

      • You are lucky that your husky has reached the age of 12. Ours only made it to 10. I am sure it is difficult to think of anything else when your pet is not well.

      • It is. Its a weird kind of writers block. Now that I know she will be ok, and we have the meds to make sure she is comfortable I will have an easier time creating content for the blog.

  1. I hope Frankie is ok! I love huskies and she looks beautiful. (offtopic – you didn’t bore me with your personal post – I don’t follow a lot of the blogging rules and I love personal posts)

  2. Oh the poor thing. It’s so hard when our four legged family members are in pain or are sick because we can’t explain what’s happening to them and they can’t tell us what is wrong. I hope she is ok.

Leave a Reply

