Spring Time Preparation

Spring is finally here in my part of the world.  This is one of my favorite times of year.  With the spring time comes preparation time for the garden.  I am a few weeks off from actually being able to put anything into the ground outside.  I want to make sure old man winter doesn’t pop over for one last frost.  I do however get to prepare the soil, getting it ready for all the plants it will be supporting over the next 6 to 7 months.  Before I can do the prep, I must survey the area and see what little things might need a little extra attention. This year the greenhouse is in need of some repair.  It has been an exceptionally rough winter, I am sure you are all aware of that since I whined about it on some previous blog posts.  Now don’t get me wrong.  I love the winter and all the activities that come with that time of year around here.  After 4 or 5 feet of snow being dumped in our area over a two month period… well, it just gets old.  Enough about the past.  This post will be the last time you hear me complain about the winter of 2013/14.  I was outside assessing the damage my greenhouse took over the winter months.  It was bad, the greenhouse is worn and torn, the winter months were not kind to it at all.  I can’t complain too much though because even with all the tears and worn areas, it will still be more than suitable for the garden this year.  Next year I may look into getting a sturdier greenhouse, or I may try to create my own.  I am sure it can’t be too difficult, my wife will more than likely roll her eyes at me when I propose this bit of genius to her.  That all being said, its spring, I’m excited, pepper plants will be planted, peppers will grow, peppers will be eaten, and a fun time shall be had by all.  I can’t wait to plant.

4 thoughts on “Spring Time Preparation

  1. We use a Costco carport wrapped with greenhouse film for our greenhouses. They are sturdy, easy to put up and inexpensive. When it snows, my husband goes out and uses a broom to “push” up the inside of the rood to push the snow off. If I knew how to attach a picture to a comment, I’d show you how it looks. You could also email or maybe I will put it on my blog for everyone. hmmmm

Leave a Reply

