My Hydroponic Toys

DSCF1248I am happy to report that all of the hydroponic equipment I ordered for my DWC (Deep Water Culture) system have arrived.  Everything came in over last week, and today the seeds that I have ordered especially for this project have arrived.

I will be taking a day or two over the next week to prep everything and DSCF1249hopefully have some seeds planted before the weekend.  As soon as I have something starting to sprout I will be sure to do a quick post.  I am sure it will be at least a week before I can put anything into the net basket. I am considering growing two plants.  One for the hydroponic system and one to plant in the garden when spring finally decides to arrive.  It is 2 degrees Fahrenheit currently in my small town just outside of Philly.  I am sure spring will arrive at some point and I will be curious to see how one plant outside compares to one grown in a DWC.

DSCF1250On a bit of unrelated news, a few posts back I had said I was going to try to overwinter my Scorpion pepper plant.  Things have not gone well.  I think the shock of being moved from outside to inside was to much for the plant.  That or the fact that my dog keeps trying nibble on it, I have such a weird dog.  There have been no new sprouts on the scorpion plant and I think it may be time to let it go.

I did learn a thing or two about overwintering a plant however, and I did make some mistakes.  I hope to try again next year with one of the plants from my garden, eventually I will get it right I am sure.

4 thoughts on “My Hydroponic Toys

Leave a Reply

