October Fun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

October has always been my favorite time of year.  The weather is changing, the leaves are turning beautiful shades of amber, red, and orange, at least it is here in Pennsylvania.  It is also time for a second harvesting of the peppers.  This was my first year growing exclusively peppers, and I can tell you that the amount of fruit these plants yielded was just amazing.  I was worried about my scorpion peppers not ripening before the frost but that fear has all but dissipated.   As you can see in the pictures the scorpions are a beautiful shade of bright orange and I am sure they will be turning red very soon.

I was going to pick all of my scorpion peppers last week and try to ripen them on the counter.  I decided to talk to a friend of mine who has years more experience than me with growing these pepper plants.  He told me that I have until at least the first week in November and possibly even longer.  He advised that I let the peppers ripen.  I took his advice and I am glad I did.

I will be making one of my favorite chili dishes soon and I will be using the chilies I grew in my little garden.  This is not a “Texas Chili” it is my chili that I have been perfecting for years.  I am so excited I may just make enough to last the week and share with friends.  Everything tastes better when you grow it yourself!

Leave a Reply

