Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is probably one of the easiest things you can make on your own using cayenne peppers right from your garden.  If you don’t have a garden you can buy dried cayenne peppers from your local market.  I am always looking for new and interesting things to try.  When I decided to grow a pepper garden this year cayenne peppers were at the top of my list.  I have always wanted to try to make crushed red pepper flakes from scratch and I’m happy to say it was a great success.

In order to make crushed red pepper flakes you can dry out your own cayenne peppers by simply hanging them in a window and have a small fan blowing on them.  This will circulate the air and help dry out the peppers.  Once they are dry simply cut them up and put them into a food processer or a blade coffee grinder.  I am lacking a coffee grinder so I had to use my food processer.  I am told the blade coffee  grinder is better for this task although I would not recommend grinding coffee in it after you have used it for grinding peppers or spices. Pulse the processor or grinder for a few minutes and just like that… crushed red pepper flakes.  I would recommend trying this because there is just something wonderful about making your own spices and foods from scratch.  I don’t mind saying that these pepper flakes are the best I have ever had.

I still have about 10 or 12 hung up and currently drying out.  My next adventure with the cayenne peppers will be to make cayenne powder.  I am really looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

