Where are the Scorpions?

Where are the Scorpions 1I knew when I started growing some of these exotic pepper plants that I was treading into uncertain waters. To my delight most of the peppers have been doing wonderfully and they are producing a lot of peppers. I spoke about how my jalapeños were not doing all that well, primarily because the scorpion pepper plant has grown so tall and full it was overshadowing the poor little jalapeño plant. This has led me to my next problem. How long will it be before the scorpion plant starts to flower? I am getting a tad nervous.

I planted the Trinidad scorpion plant in mid April just after the last frost, the plant was a few weeks old at this point. It is now late August and the plant looks great, with the exception of flowers. It is getting plenty of light, the temperature is just right, it has plenty of water, yet still no flowers. I decided to do some digging and see how long it takes for the scorpion to flower, from the time it is planted to the time it flowers. What I found was rather interesting. I read from many different sources that the Trinidad scorpion will flower in 90 to 120 days after planting. So by that measure, my plant should be loaded with flowers just waiting to turn into the incredibly hot scorpion peppers. However I have neither. No flowers, no peppers.

This is my first attempt at growing these kinds of peppers, and as I have said, I am going to have more than enough peppers Where are the Scorpions 3of all varieties, but this was the one I was looking forward to the most. Let it never be said that Mother Nature doesn’t know how to tease, because she has had me holding my breath for the last two weeks waiting for these flowers to bloom. Thank you all for reading, I will keep you posted, and as soon as I have a flower on the Trinidad scorpion plant you can be sure I will post it right away. If anyone out there has any experience growing these peppers I would love to hear from you, I am never one to turn down advice.

Leave a Reply

