First Harvest

Last night we had our first real harvest of the pepper season. We have been picking peppers here and there for cooking purposes, but we hadn’t picked very many. Last night my lovely wife and I went into the garden and picked every pepper that Harvest 2was ready. It was truly rewarding to see all the peppers ready to be picked. A lot of people told me growing a pepper garden  would be tough. The hardest part for me was the actual planting of the garden. My daughter really did most of the work there. So that was not a big deal. I tend to the garden every day after work, to water or feed the plants. So really this is way more reward than the effort I put into it.

I did find a little problem while harvesting the peppers. All of them were in great condition, bug free and ready to eat right off the plant, except for my habaneros.  There were only 4 or 5 that were ready to be picked and as I picked them I noticed they had holes on them. The green habaneros were unaffected but the ripe ones all had been eaten by something.  The problem is I don’t know what is doing the damage. If anyone out there knows what might be doing this, please feel free to contact me.

So apart from the habaneros, my first harvest was a success.  It looks like I will get a lot more peppers in the coming weeks. I can hardly believe September is almost upon us. I intend to stretch out this growing season as long as possible. I am growingHarvest 3 the peppers in a greenhouse I bought a few years ago and I’m eager to see how long I can extend the growing season. As always, thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

