Basic Hot Sauce

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Basic Hot Sauce

I have been making hot sauce for a few years now. The first time I tried it I was amazed at how simple it is. Below is a very basic hot sauce recipe, you can tinker with it by adding different spices and seasonings if you like. I hope you enjoy this one. Give it a try and I doubt you will every buy hot sauce from a store again.

10 Habaneros
2 Giant Jalapenos
Vinegar
1 tsp. Salt

Rough cut the habaneros and jalapenos and place chopped peppers into a 2 quart pot. Cover the peppers with vinegar and turn heat onto high and place the lid on the pot.

Once the vinegar comes to a boil add the salt. (At this point avoid inhaling the vapors as they can cause some irritation to the eyes, nose and throat. Having the windows open will help to mitigate the pepper steam.)

Boil peppers until they are soft enough to place a fork into them with no resistance. If you see that the vinegar has boiled down add more. Make sure the peppers are always covered with vinegar during the cooking process.

Once the peppers are ready take the pot off the heat and let cool to room temperature. When cooled blend until the peppers are liquefied. Strain the liquefied pepper vinegar mixture through a fine mesh strainer into a bowl.

Bottle your new hot sauce and put in the fridge to cool.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Basic Hot Sauce

  1. On a scale of 1-10, 10 being extremely hot, just how hot is the hot sauce? I’m asking because I have a hot sauce aficionado at home, that cannot eat one meal without it and goes even so far to drink it from the bottle to prove how it’s not hot at all. So looking to find something that he will have to finally admit to being hot!

    • It depends on the pepper you use. The Trinidad scorpion pepper is EXTREMELY hot, the Carolina reaper is the hottest in the world as of right now, but the Trinidad scorpion is easier to find. Good luck and I am sure either of these will work in putting some real heat on his taste buds.

      • It will have to wait unfortunately till we are back in the USA but I am bound determined to get him to say: Man this is hot!!
        Sometimes I wonder if I should sell him to science haha!

      • That is too funny. I will be growing Carolina reapers, and scorpion peppers next season. If you like can send you a few of the hottest peppers in the world. They are usually ready for harvest around October. Just remind me and I will be happy to send you some. Just be careful when you make the sauce, the smell of these peppers can have an effect similar to teargas. 🙂

  2. I am not an aficionado. I have just been ingesting peppers with my father for a good majority of my life. There are a few good peppers that will make me tear up; but I haven’t run screaming to the fridge in over 20 years. I may not say it’s hot; but hunny, and yourperfectburn, if either of you see me reaching for milk and bread, you know it’s got me.

    • LOL it all depends on what peppers you use. Might I suggest using Smokin Ed’s Carolina Reapers. Just making hot sauce with those peppers can be tricky as the vapor has a teargas like effect. If you cant find the reapers try the Maruga Scorpions, they are much easier to find and pack one heck of a punch. In the coming months we will be doing sauce and pepper reviews on the blog, that will give you an idea of the heat some of these peppers have.

Leave a Reply

